Sunday , 19 May 2024
Breaking News
Home » How to ? » Daylight Savings Time 2011 goes backward this Sunday

Daylight Savings Time 2011 goes backward this Sunday

When to change the clock backwards for Day light saving time 2011? For our viewers who are hitting the search button with the question, the Day Light Saving Time is all set to end this Sunday, November 6,2011 at 2.00 am.  The clock will go back  1 hour at that time.That is, at 2.00 am this Sunday, the clock will go back to its Original time and will be changed to 1.oo am.

People who work for late hours will probably be waiting for this Sunday to get that extra bit of  sleep :) We get 1 hour extra to sleep.yeppie!

The Daylight saving time which goes forward every 2nd Sunday of March by 1 hour  will return back to its original time by the first Sunday in November.

So when did they actually starting observing the Daylight saving time?  That is a  bit of History we need to learn first.

History of Daylight Saving Time

As per, Daylight Saving Time was instituted in the United States during World War I in order to save energy for war production by taking advantage of the later hours of daylight between April and October. During World War II the federal government again required the states to observe the time change. Between the wars and after World War II, states and communities chose whether or not to observe Daylight Saving Time. In 1966, Congress passed the Uniform Time Act, which standardized the length of Daylight Saving Time.

Daylight Saving Time is four weeks longer since 2007 due to the passage of the Energy Policy Act in 2005. The Act extended Daylight Saving Time by four weeks from the second Sunday of March to the first Sunday of November, with the hope that it would save 10,000 barrels of oil each day through reduced use of power by businesses during daylight hours. Unfortunately, it is exceedingly difficult to determine energy savings from Daylight Saving Time and based on a variety of factors, it is possible that little or no energy is saved by Daylight Saving Time.

Arizona (except some Indian Reservations), Hawaii, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and American Samoa have chosen not to observe Daylight Saving Time. This choice does make sense for the areas closer to the equator because the days are more consistent in length throughout the year.

If you are still unclear on  the change in time, i have uploaded a image below that might assist you in knowing the change

Related stories:

FBI Releases Documents on Michael Jackson
Daniel Schorr dead: NPR,CBS Journalist dies at 93
Florida’s solution to violence: MORE GUNS!!
UFO seen at Jerusalem's Dome of Rock?
2012 Calendar!
India to buy Iranian Oil with Gold
Dancing With the Stars Motown Records Theme
European court backs Right to be Forgotten act against Google