Wednesday , 12 June 2024
Breaking News
Home » Sports » Deccan Chargers win IPL 2009 crown

Deccan Chargers win IPL 2009 crown

Cool finish at the end of  IPL 2009 SA. Deccan chargers made their stand more clear by winning the DLF IPL 2009 trophy. It was pretty close game though, but Gilchrist team held their nerve more than Kumble’s team. It was a treat for everyone who  watched the match.

It all started when Kumble won the toss and chose to field first. Pretty interesting decision though but it proved fruitful for the Royal challengers Bangalore by the fall of wicket of the Inform batsman Adam Gilchrist for duck. The man taking the wicket is none other than Anil kumble himself . The wicket of gilchrist created a huge buzz in the ground. It was because of the damage that Gilchrist can do to the opponent. The semifinal between Delhi daredevils and Deccan chargers is unforgetable ,where gilchrist slammed 85 runs of 35 balls.

After gilchrist wicket, the scoring rate of Deccan chargers drastically falled down to  nearly 5 runs per over. And within a over Suman was caught by Manish pandey which made Bangalore team in the drivers seat. On the other end though, Gibbs was playing sensible not taking any risk. Andrew symonds catch was dropped by dravid which was a sitter to lose, and he made bangalore pay them by smashing 4 fours and a six.

Kumble decided to ball again and got the wicket of symonds. The game again was turned on for bangalore. Rohit sharma failed to score as he did before by smashing all over the park. He played a knock of 24 runs. Gibbs was the star of the match for Deccan chargers scoring 53 runs not out. Deccan chargers made a total of 143 runs for 6 in 20 overs.

The second innings started with Bangalore came out to bat with the pair of Kallis and pandey. Symonds adopted old aussie trick of teasing the young pandey. When the momentem was shifting towards bangalore. The leading wicket taker RP Singh got kallis bowled out. And then Ojha proved why he is dangerous, by  getting Roel out who was hitting big shots for 6. The game was still any team game.

Ohja managed to take 2 wickets in 2 overs. Still that was not enough as bangalore had 8 star batsmen in them. Gilchrist trusted his old team mate Symonds and asked him to ball which was the turning point of the match. Symonds took 2 wickets in 2 ball getting Kohli and Ross Taylor out.  Deccan started to feel the victory here. But still there was Boucher and Uttappa to handle out. Boucher seemed uncomfortable and was caughed out for the ball of harminder singh.

Now the final breath taking moments with 30 runs to score for 3 overs and at the crease was Uttappa and praveen kumar. Deccan chargers planned well not to give width for uttappa and made him feel the pain. Praveen was caught with the ball of ojha for 2 runs. Vinay kumar seemed aggresive and smashed a four. He was  caught  in the deep by harminder singh which was the superb catch of the IPL. Gilchrist praised harminder singh in the presentation cermony for the catch he took.

Uttappa though had international experience couldnt make the score. And the deccan chargers won the IPL trophy 2009. It was a celebration for them. Anil kumble was awarded man of the match. Adam gilchrist was awarded man of the series.

Related stories:

Netherlands upset host England in ICC World cup T20
Jets shocker: Ryan's boys back up talk, win 28-21
Pakistan makes it to semi finals
Semi Final teams decided in the ICC World cup 2011
Brian Urlacher Returns back to Bears for practice
Tough Time Dont last, Tough Men DO: Yuvraj Singh
Federer beats Murray for fifth Dubai title
Michael Schumacher is Critical - Fighting for his Life says Doctors
  • JaneRadriges

    The article is ver good. Write please more